About Ada First UMC

The original bell that hung in the 1899 building.

A Brief History of Our Church

In the village of Ada, Methodism can be traced  back to 1852.  The congregation of Ada First United Methodist Church first met in the old school-house, then a two-story wooden church in 1868, and finally moved into the new stone church on June 18, 1899.  On March 13, 2012, a massive fire destroyed the structure at 301 N. Main St.   After worshiping at Ohio Northern University's English Chapel for three years, we are back at 301 N. Main St. in our new building as of March 2015.

Meet Our Staff

Contact Information

Facility Usage Information

Digitized microfilms of the church record books, which report baptisms, marriages, and deaths, are available in a digitized format on the Ada Public Library's website.  

As part of our rich history, the congregation treasures a book prepared for the church centennial by Betty Miller and the Centennial History Committee.  Feel free to read about the church, the Village of Ada, and Methodism in this electronic copy of the book Celebrating a Century: Reflections of Faith 1899-1999

Proclaiming Christ; Preparing Disciples